This is the "Home" page of the "Early Dramatic Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early Dramatic Literature   Tags: drama, dramatic literature, plays, playwrights, theater, theatre  

Helpful resources for researching plays and playwrights from ancient times to the 18th century.
Last Updated: Aug 5, 2015 URL: http://libguides.eureka.edu/DramaticLitI Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Multi-disciplinary Journal, Magazine, & Newspaper Articles

Electronic databases search full-text of scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals to find articles that contain your play or playwright. Select ASP, MFP, & MLA in EBSCOhost for the best results. 

Specialized Research Tools

Sites for Performance Rights

 

Indexes

Cover Art
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections - Denise Montgomery
Call Number: R 016.80882 O89i
ISBN: 0810877201
Publication Date: 2011-08-11

Cover Art
Play Index
Call Number: R 016.80882 W517p
Publication Date: 1949-2007

Humanities Index
Call Number: INDEX H918
Located behind the main floor staircase.

Look for Books & Media in our Catalogs

Our catalogs allow you to search for your play by title and playwright by author or subject to create relevant results.

 

Sample Books from the "stacks"

The books below can be found in our circulating "stacks" on our top and main floor.

Cover Art
500 Years of Theatre History - Michael B. Dixon (Editor)
Call Number: 792.09 F565
ISBN: 1575251736
Publication Date: 1999-10-01

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Early Modern Theatre - Richard Dutton (Editor)
Call Number: 792.094209 O98
ISBN: 0199287244
Publication Date: 2009-08-01

Cover Art
History of the Theatre - Oscar G. Brockett
Call Number: 792.09 B864h
ISBN: 0205164838
Publication Date: 1994-09-01

Cover Art
Living Theater - Edwin Wilson; Alvin Goldfarb
Call Number: 792.09 W748l
ISBN: 007038469X
Publication Date: 1999-07-21

Cover Art
Types of Drama - Sylvan Barnet; William Burto; Lesley Ferris; Gerald Rabkin
Call Number: 808.82 D763
ISBN: 0321065069
Publication Date: 2001-01-03

Cover Art
Greek Drama - Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 882.009 G793
ISBN: 0791078949
Publication Date: 2004-03-01

Cover Art
Greek Drama and Dramatists - Alan H. Sommerstein
Call Number: 882.009 S697g
ISBN: 0415260280
Publication Date: 2002-02-22

Cover Art
Greek Tragic Theatre - Rush Rehm
Call Number: 882.0109 R346g
ISBN: 0415118948
Publication Date: 1994-10-19

Cover Art
History of the Greek and Roman Theater - Margaret Bieber
Call Number: 882.09 B586h
ISBN: 0691035210
Publication Date: 1961-05-01

Cover Art
Roman Drama
Call Number: 872.0108 R758P
Publication Date: 1956

Cover Art
The Medieval Theatre - Glynne W. Wickham
Call Number: 809.202 W636m
ISBN: 0521312485
Publication Date: 1987-07-09

Cover Art
Medieval and Tudor Drama - John Gassner
Call Number: 822.208 M491
ISBN: 0936839848
Publication Date: 1995-01-01

Cover Art
Staging the Renaissance - Peter Stallybrass (Editor); David Scott Kastan (Editor)
Call Number: 822.309 S779
ISBN: 0415901669
Publication Date: 1991-10-10


Cover Art
Elizabethan Drama - Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 822.09 E43
ISBN: 0791079880
Publication Date: 2004-02-01

Cover Art
A history of English drama, 1660-1900
Call Number: 822.09 N645h v. 1-6
Publication Date: 1952-59

Cover Art
The Cambridge Companion to British Theatre, 1730-1830 - Jane Moody (Editor); Daniel O'Quinn
Call Number: 792.0942 C178
ISBN: 0521852374
Publication Date: 2007-10-25

Cover Art
A History of Irish Theatre, 1601-2000 - Christopher Morash
Call Number: 792.09415 M827h
ISBN: 0521646820
Publication Date: 2004-03-04

Cover Art
Seventeenth century French drama
Call Number: 824.408 S497
Publication Date: 1967

Public Services Librarian

Profile Image
Kelly Fisher
Contact Info
309-467-6892 - Reference Desk
301 E. College Ave.
Eureka , IL 61530
Send Email
 

Reference Books

Noncirculating Reference books with an "R" prefix are located on the main floor just east of the library entrance.

Cover Art
The New York Times Theatre Reviews
Call Number: R 792.0947 N532a
ISBN: 0415936977
Publication Date: 2001-12-21
Use the cumulative indexes to plays volume(s) in the series for a more efficient search process.

Cover Art
Drama Criticism Series
Call Number: R 809.2 D764 v.1-38
These are located along the western wall of the Reference area. Use the blue Contemporary Authors index to look up your author, and look for the DC#.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre - Martin Banham (Editor)
Call Number: R 792.03 C178a
ISBN: 0521434378
Publication Date: 1995-09-21

Cover Art
Oxford Companion to the Theatre - Phyllis Hartnoll (Editor)
Call Number: R 792.03 H333o4
ISBN: 0192115464
Publication Date: 1983-10-13

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays - Michael Patterson
Call Number: R 809.2003 P318o
ISBN: 0198604173
Publication Date: 2005-06-02

Cover Art
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre - Europe - Peter Nagy (Editor); Phillippe Rouyer (Editor)
Call Number: R 792.03 W927 v.1-2
ISBN: 0415059283
Publication Date: 1995-01-20

Cover Art
The Book of One Thousand Plays - Stephen Fletcher (Editor); Norman Jopling (Compiled by)
Call Number: R 809.2 F615b
ISBN: 0816021228
Publication Date: 1989-05-01

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama - McGraw-Hill Staff; Daniel Gerould (Preface by)
Call Number: R 809.2 M147e2
ISBN: 0070791694
Publication Date: 1984-01-01


Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature - Margaret Howatson
Call Number: R 880.03 O98
ISBN: 0198661215
Publication Date: 1989-05-25

Cover Art
The Oxford companion to French literature
Call Number: R 840.3 H342o
Publication Date: 1959

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to English Literature - Margaret Drabble (Editor)
Call Number: R 820.3 H342o5
ISBN: 0198662335
Publication Date: 1999-02-04

Cover Art
Reference guide to English literature
Call Number: R 820.9 R332
ISBN: 9781558620780
Publication Date: 1991

Cover Art
Reader's Guide to Literature in English - Mark Hawkins-Dady (Editor)
Call Number: R 820.9 R285
ISBN: 1884964206
Publication Date: 1996-05-01


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip